Friday, May 23, 2008


my oh my, check this out!
an incredibly clever pop-up alphabet book.

Kudos to Tyler

Tyler has been invited to participate in a political poster exhibit at Eastern Michigan University called "the posters of discontent" this coming August. Tyler's work will hang along other design greats such as Milton Glaser and Marcia Lausen. Stay tuned for more information come August.

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

KCAI Graphic Design Student Awards

The Weingart Award: Awarded for superb achievement in formalism.
1. Rhianna Weilert 2. Laura Berglund

The Kalman Award: Awarded for imbuing work with conceptual depth and meaning.
1. Grant Nitsch 2. Josh Lambert

The Hofmann Award: Awarded for outstanding rigor and diligent process.
1. Ian Tirone 2. Garrett Fuselier 3. Monina Velarde

The Lausen Award: Awarded for outstanding social/ethical awareness and advocacy through design.
1. Callalily England 2. Jessica Bayer

The Tschichold Award: Awarded for significant transformation since last semester.
1. Sheila Wong 2. Kyle Huber

The Bierut Award: Awarded to the most articulate in oral and written communication.
1. Kelly Flaherty 2. Ramzy Masri

The Emigre Award: Awarded for a fearless and exploratory approach.
1. Matt Urlaub 2. Morgan Allen

The Poyner Award: Awarded for insightful contribution in critique.
1. Matt Judge 2. Tezz Walker

The Cooper Award: Awarded for boldly embracing technology in design.
1. Garrett Fuselier 2. Matt Takach

The Lupton Award: Awarded for outstanding participation in KCAI's graphic design studio community and a willingness to help others.
1. Garrett Fuselier 2. Tim Griffin

Monday, May 19, 2008

Send us your photos!

The department has a flickr account here:

Please send any photos of studio or campus life and events to Michael at

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Power & Light art contest

SD2 new media and IT consulting is sponsoring a design/art contest in the power and light district. artwork will go either on banners throughout the district, or on a large lcd screen for motion-based work. $1500 in prize money will be split among the winners. deadline is may 30. you can get more info and submit on-line here.

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Congratulations to Kristy Tillman and Sheila Wong. Both had projects selected by the judging panel for further review in the semifinal round in New York City. Each will be sent to Adobe's regional offices for exhibits and further publicity and published online. Search...

Friday, May 9, 2008

All-department end of semester celebration

The end of semester is upon us and to celebrate our year, we will be having our departmental farewell party next Friday, May 16th. It is at the senior exhibit in the Belger Arts Center, 2100 Walnut. Festivities begin at 7pm and end at 9pm.

Awards will be given out, for ALL grades, along with prizes. And of course, there will be food!

Tuesday, May 6, 2008

Interested in seeing other local student work?

KU is having its Department of Design Senior Show this Thursday.
Opening Reception: Thursday, May 8th, 2008, 5:00 - 9:00 PM
Location: Californos (in Westport)

Johnson County Community College Senior Exhibition
Opening Reception: Wednesday, May 14, 2008, 5:00 - 9:00 PM
Location: Liberty Memorial

Monday, May 5, 2008


Howdy, all! We'll be teleporting to the fantastic VML on Monday May 5th for a tour of their facilities! VML is doing some great things in pushing how we view technology. It's quite a large firm, and will be a great contrast to some of the smaller firms we've visited thus far! We'll be leaving at 2:30 from the design building.

It's at 250 Richards Road

Sunday, May 4, 2008

AIGA officer nominations

Submit names for consideration Monday 5/5. Nominate yourself or a peer. I will appoint positions this week!